What a Year it’s Been! Now Here’s a Look Back (and what’s in store)!

It’s honestly hard to believe that 2015 is upon us! I feel like it was just yesterday 2013  ended, and Jason and I were at Green Turtle eating massive burgers on New Years eve. But no doubt about it, shortly 2014 will be over and we will be looking into the eyes of 2015.

To be hoenst, 2014 didn’t begin as awesome as it ended! But nonetheless it’s more or less about the lessons we learn not the trials we dwell in. So lets look back at some top moments!!!

Travel– This year I discovered a love of travelling, probably covering more mileage than I have in my entire life. It started with a trip with 4 of my friends to Palmyra!wpid-img_46647089073029.jpeg Being able to see the Sacred Grove and walk where the prophet Joseph Smith walked was just amazing. The Spirit was so powerful in those sacred locations, and it was an amazing weekend vacation I’ll nevet forget.

I also had the opportunity to travel as far west as I’ve ever gone, and that was to another historical Church site, “Kirtland OH”. I was lucky enough to go with my girlfriend and two very good friends of mine. It was such a blessing to go on this trip, and inspirewpid-20140802_193415.jpgd me to visit every historical church site in the continental United states before 2020. With plans already in formation to Go to Nauvoo this spring, and possibly Salt Lake for General Conference, it seems like a very likely feat!

wpid-20140614_194708.jpgI also got to go into the heart of Nature with my brother this summer. Doing primitive camping in the mountains of Maryland!. And what would be any type of travel log then mentioning one of my favorite cities outside of Baltimore and Annapolis, my third home Philly! Definitely had my share of subs!

3 Years!- 2014 marked 3 years since my baptism. I don’t thinkwpid-img_20141030_101124.jpg it ever really feels like 3 years. It either feels like a million or like yesterday. Nonetheless I’m grateful for every moment since. I’m grateful for all the experiences I’ve had in the last three years. I’m so grateful for the friendships made and restored, the family stabilized and gained, and just an incredible part of me that was missing.

Adversity-  2014 in the early part of the year, I saw some painful and stressful trials. Things once planned did not go as planned, and moments that seemed impossible appeared. I learned a lot about myself and those I choose to associate with, and I learned through it all, family and friends and faith are key to making it through the strongest storms. I was in a bad place emotionally in the beginning of the year, but towards the middle part aroudn April Conference, a change began, and I was able to look beyond the situation and focus on what I truly wanted! I’m grateful for those trials, and I’m grateful for the life lessons learned.

Love sometimes is right in front of you- Funny enough, I was just talking to one ofwpid-img_20141203_111325.jpg my oldest Friends Matt about this Saturday night, when I told him that my girlfriend and I had been “officially dating” for the last 6 months. In reply he laughed and said, “I thought you guys wpid-img_43380778757253.jpegwould’ve dated about 2 years ago…” Funny enough to the outside world, that’s probably what it looked like, and deep down it’s probably what it actually was more or less. My girlfriend Colleen and I have been great friends wpid-img_20141127_233915.jpgso long. A little over 5 years now. We’ve been through a lot together, and have been there for each other through it all. I’m so happy and blessed for the past 5 years, but definitely the 6 months we’ve been dating! I’m very hopeful for the future 🙂

Family- I don’t know where I’d be without them. wpid-wp-1420043906787.jpegReaching a quarter century this year, made me really think about just how far I’ve come. Honestly I wouldn’t have been there without my family. So many times my parents have bailed me out of crazy situations that without them I’d be lost. wpid-img_20141206_213446.jpgI’m so grateful Heavenly Father chose my parents to raise me, and just the amazing example they’ve been in my life, showing me what true love looks like. I’m grateful for sisters, that even though we don’t see each other as much as I’d like, that we’re still there for each other and can help one another out in times of need.

Friends- I’ve learned at times that family isn’t always blood related. And that proved true this year. wpid-img_46767956763452.jpegSome friends have become like brothers to me, ones I know I can trust for sure, wpid-img_20141011_175559.jpgand I’ve also been blessed to make some new friends. 2014 showed me just who’s true and who isn’t. I’m grateful my circle which is slightly bigger, is wpid-img_20141015_110519.jpgcompiled of people I can trust and know support me.

School- Yes I’m still in school. Jeez and it feels like I’ve been here forever. But I think choosing to go to BYU Idaho (online) is probably going to be a good thign for me in 2015. ITT tech was good for a time, but its not for me, it doesn’t work for me anymore, and I can’t see myself spending anymore money there. So BYU-I it is! It’s not Provo, but heck I’ll take it lol.

My Art- To be honest not mentioning this would be a crime against myself. This year I finished the first Manuscript in my first professional book series! “Maniac” It’s now in Post-production, and I plan on releasing it via Kindle next year under my own writing group name “Max Literature Group”. It’s exciting! I’ve been writing for exactly 10 years and now have reached a point where I’m ready to make something of it. On top of that, I’ve created a new Blog (This one!) And I’m so happy I can share my testimony and thoughts to all of you, and the web. It’s very exciting!

MAx Literature Group (Mario, Colleen, and I()
MAx Literature Group (Mario, Colleen, and I()

The Road ahead….

If only I knew what 2015 would hold. I said at the end of 2013 that 2014 would be a big year, and this proved to be so true! I sit on the edge of 2014 trying to conciously think of what in the world is coming 2015, I have some goals and plans and ideas of what are to come, but honestly I’m just happy enjoying the ride for once! I’m so happy for all of you who have been there this year, and look forward to many more memories with you.

To my new friends who are readers of this blog, look forward to more to come! This ride isn’t over! It’s barely just begun!

So happy new years. See you guys in 2015…

Leave a Reply

